Skip to content

Ms. Green Quick Fixes Looks Boo-riffic Testing Natural Halloween Makeup

October 28, 2010

It’s Halloween again and every year I go into my closet and craft room and see what I can devise.

This year’s costume needs some makeup, however, and Halloween makeup does not usually list ingredients, leaving the voice inside me to shriek, “Danger! Danger! Lead!” There is toxic-free costume makeup available online for future dress-up adventures, but in interest of both cost and time, I tried a few popular recipes.

Combining 2 tsp vegetable shortening, 3 tsp corn starch, 4 drops liquid glycerin, 1 tsp flour and 4-5 drops food coloring, I smeared this goblin green on. It’s all natural, but is it ever heavy! I don’t think I would wear this for very long, and it’s got a bumpy look.

I added a little more shortening, and that seemed to smooth the product out, but not as much as I would have liked. Adding additional glycerin makes the product a little dryer.

Second, I tried combining everyday face lotion, cornstarch and food coloring. This natural makeup is light as air and the color was excellent, but it settles in the skin, lacks sheen, and despite two washings, there remains the faintest shade of green. It will go away.

Lastly, I went to my mineral makeup bag and fished out the Iguana green eyeliner–it’s great for the details around the face. A little mineral lipstick and lipliner, and I’ve got a plan to look boo-riffic.

For more natural Halloween makeup tips, including blood and great looking warts, check out these recipes and pictures on The Smart Mama blog.

More Fingertips:

-Go on Facebook and ask your friends if you can borrow a specific costume or piece to complete your look. It worked for me!

-Hold a costume swap over coffee after breakfast on Saturday. Get family and friends excited for Halloween on Sunday!

-Having a party? You already have some of the trimmings. A teddy bear and kids clothes from a consignment shop, along with an old straw hat, makes a great scarecrow. Use white LED Christmas lights around your door.

-When carving a pumpkin, be sure to save the seeds for toasted snacks and the pulp for a hearty Autumn soup. Use beeswax or soy candles to avoid burning petroleum.

-Lend your reusable grocery bags to the kids for collecting their candy. They are strong, and they can sling them over their shoulder, easing the load.

-Give out Necco wafers (local and natural) and other packaged, natural snacks to trick-or-treaters!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

