Skip to content

Meet The Green Dad!

June 20, 2013

This Dad Is Green!

Hello, I’m Mike Gioscia, aka ‘The Green Dad’. I’m so happy to be blogging for The Go Green Web Directory! My wife and I have been green for about 9 years. Our journey to become the greenies we are today didn’t happen overnight, and we’ve made plenty of zigs where we should have zagged along the way.

That’s what I write about. If I can do it, anybody can! It’s not hard, it will actually save you money in the end, and it’s hardly some elitist hippie thing. I feel so strongly about the lifestyle I’ve started a business around it called The Green Dad.

We’ve raised two small kids during this process, and realize having two picky eaters can be a challenge for any menu or budget. Food choices are a HUGE part of green choices. I still have plenty to learn, and eagerly look for the next great tip or comrade in arms out there with a trick to share. I want to share the green/sustainable knowledge I’ve picked up along the way, and sometimes the way things happen are quite humorous.

Food, clothing, recycling, cleaning products, lawn, garden, toys, energy… just about everything can be ‘greened up’.

I attended the Public Hearing on GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) Labeling at the Massachusetts State House this week, and it was quite an experience. It was SRO (‘Standing Room Only’ for the non-music people). I heard librarians, conservatives, researchers, representatives, high school kids, grandparents, liberals, electricians, moms, farmers, scientists, activists, clergy, and spouses all talk wonderfully about why GMOs should be labeled. There were tears. There was laughter. Above all there was a sense of COMMUNITY, and a true sense of WE THE PEOPLE standing up to a HUGE PROBLEM. I am humbled by the people working so hard for what they believe in, and am truly inspired to work harder myself for justice.

In the 90s, while I was on the radio, DJ’ing on Lansdowne Street, and lugging my drums around between New York City and Portland Maine, if someone told me I was bound to become ‘The Green Dad’, I would have laughed. Who? ME? But things happen. And in this case, it’s the best thing to ever happen to me, and it makes me want to share the feeling with you.

Thanks for reading! Go Green!

Mike Gioscia is thegreendad.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

